Talk about a friend who played a big part in your life

Somewhere I heard or read that walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light. And, I must say that I fully agree with the statement. Indeed, friends are important because they always somehow affect us. Today, I would like to talk about one such friend who has played an important part in my life. His name was Fazle Rabbi, and he was my university friend. I met him for the first time at our university cafeteria about 7 years ago when we both were waiting on a line to pay for our coffee. He asked me if I was coming from a certain part of my county as I was talking in a different dialect, and I said that he was right in his assumption. After that casual conversation, our friendship had started, and we are continuing our friendship still to this date Anyway, both I and Fazle were in the same year of our university, but Fazle was studying a different subject. After we started our friendship, Fazle had helped me with a number of things, which included collecting class notes for me from his friends and taking me to the hospital when I was sick. Sometimes, he even offered me to use his bicycle to reach the university library on a cold evening. Even though we were just friends, we treated each other like a brother. By the way, I had a bad habit of smoking, and it was Fazle who finally convinced me to quit smoking. Fazle even took a very innovative approach to force me to follow a particular study routine, which ultimately had helped me to get a very good final grade, when leaving university. Anyway, Fazle has influenced my life in a tremendous manner, but I think that he played his most important role as a friend when he encouraged me to choose teaching as a profession instead of becoming a public health professional. In fact, it is because of my friend Fazle that I have such a fulfilling career today.