Taking care of elderly people

The advancement in the medical field has led the average life expectancy of humans to 80, even 90 in many countries. As a result, when they age more than 70 their health becomes a major issue, and they need someone to do physical activities. In the given essay, I will discuss whether it is the responsibility of the government or the family to heed the senior citizens, and provide my opinion. To begin with, no doubt, it is the responsibility of the family to take care of elderly people. Since they had helped their children to grow up, took care of them in their childhood, now it is their duty to pay them back by taking care of them. To illustrate, parents give birth to a child, teach them to walk and talk, pay the fees for their education. Thus, it is the duty of their successor to help his parents in the twilight days of their lives. Furthermore, senior citizens have contributed to society in different ways when they were young. Besides, many of them were a part of world wars and many related campaigns in the early-90s that led us to independence. Thus, it also becomes the responsibility of the government to help the elderly by entitling them to special privileges. For example, in India, several senior citizens fought for the independence of the country in the mid-90s. Hence, the government has given them special financial and medical rights that will help them their entire lives. To conclude, after analyzing the above discussion, it is evident that it is the duty of both the people in authority and the children to heed the old people. Since they have helped both of them in their youth.