Taking a gap year has many advantages and disadvantages.

Nicholas Kristof once said “I took a gap year by myself after high school and worked on a farm near Lyon, France. I stayed with the Vallet family, picked and packed fruit, and discovered that red wine can be a breakfast drink. That led to further travel as a university student”. Although the enormous benefit gap years offer us such as providing soft skills and numerous life experiences through travel and volunteering, even give people a better idea about their career, some people argue that it is a waste of time as well as money and their study skill could be diminished. This essay will examine both sides of views. To commence with, people can develop soft skills and a diverse range of life experiences by taking a gap year. The first thing to put into consideration is that people could learn skills that they could never be taught at school like communication, leadership. According to Yearon “Ninety-three percent of gap year alumni surveyed told the American Gap Association their gap year helped them develop communication skills”. This is true due to the fact that people will learn about diverse communication methods through working on projects with individuals from other cultures. For example, by traveling to local areas and participating in local activities people will be exposed to other cultures and social issues. Not only communication skills but people can also know how organisations work and leadership skills. Owing to the fact that by working in volunteer programs or working as an internship in a company. By observing how people organise their cooperation, people can gain many precious experiences and skills that will help them at university. Furthermore, a gap year can provide people with a clearer picture of your professional goals and major. According to Yearon “a Gap Year Advantage study revealed 60% of students felt their gap year influenced their major”. This is due to gap years can give students plenty of time thinking about their future and students might encounter many challenges that might change their notion about their career path. For example, Emma Watson, a movie actress who later became an activist, studied English literature at Brown University. She took a year off acting in 2016 to focus on personal growth and go further into gender studies, despite not having attended traditional schooling. This proved to be a pivotal period in Watson's development as the feminist she is today. Additionally, people can try many different jobs or intern in some companies to try out what they are really into so that they will not make a wrong decision that they will regret their whole life. On the other hand, taking a year off can be pricey and waste a lot of time. For example, if people decide to travel they will need a large amount of money to spend on transportation, accomodation and food. Even worse, without a proper plan, they may be a hindrance to the remainder of their life objectives. In other words, the time during a gap year must be used productively, and people should not waste it. Additionally, people should use this time seriously to find out their true self and not for the purpose of taking a break. At the end of the day, people may not get the experience they expect and waste a year. To furtity further, taking a gap year may cause people to lose their academic edge. Since there will be a large amount of time absent from school, which might diminish what people have learned in the past few years. This is due to the fact that subjects such as mathematics, physics, and chemistry need sophisticated processes and techniques that are rarely employed outside of the classroom. A 2010 report from Florida University revealed that 1 in 100 students, who take “Gap-year” never go for advanced studies and struggle throughout their life to make ends meet because of being unskilled. In addition, students will be behind their peers and this may cause a great pressure on them. In conclusion, the arguments in favour of taking a gap year are stronger than those against because taking a year off leads to more success in the career path and more life experience. Clearly, people should take a gap year.