Taking a gap year before university: is it a good idea?

Right after graduating from High School, some students take a gap year. Personally, I think most of the time, a gap year is a great idea for students. And there are a few reasons why I think so. First of all, a gap year is a chance for students to take some time and think about their future. Choosing what to do in the future, either a major or a job, is not easy, and even more with the little experience that students around those ages have. Furthermore, this year is not only for making decisions about their future, but also, to relax for a while and know more about the world, in case they decide to travel or work. Likewise, a gap year is a time to know themselves better. This year is important in their own growing process. This will help them to be an efficient student, worker, and person in general. As well, in case they decide to work, they will gain more experience in the laboral area. Students will learn more about the processes like job interviews, curriculum vitae, etcetera. In the same way, this will help them to have an idea of how is the environment in certain fields or jobs. In conclusion, taking a gap year before university is a good idea. It does not matter what are the reasons why a student choose to take a gap year, it will be enriching for his or her own growing. It can be personal, laboral, academic, psychological. Finally, my last advice will be to follow one's heart, to listen to your inner voice and do whatever you need or want to do.