Some people believe that government should take care of old people whereas others oppose this view.

The old people have always been treated as a dormant part of society since ages. Who should take care of them is a debatable topic these days. Some people think that the senior citizens should be looked after by the government while others have a different opinion. I will discuss both the views in my essay. On one hand, old people are physically weak and are financially incapacitated. Due to which they are often ignored and abandoned by their children. Moreover, they are considered as a burden on the society because they are not able to earn. By providing a monthly pension to senior citizens, the government can support their empowerment and emancipation. Additionally, if their children do not look after them or leave them, they can still be able to afford a domestic help. Furthermore, the government can also provide them with the facility of old age homes, where they can spend quality time with the people of the same age group. On the other side, people spend a huge part of their incomes for their children’s well-being. The parents not only give birth to their kids, but also make them stand on their feet. So, in order to pay the debt of gratitude to them, the children should meet the financial and emotional needs of their elderly parents. To conclude, in my opinion, both children and government are morally responsible for supporting the old people. Because, when they are young, they not only take care of their families, but also contribute a lot to nation building. Moreover, the government can also help them lead a happy and respectful life by providing some kind of financial assistance. Certainly, any financial support will inevitably make them capable of living independently.