learning Microteaching as well as a student teacher

As a student who is learning Microteaching as well as a student teacher, I believe teaching skills are very important beside an elaborate lesson plan. Based on my microteaching experience and peer evaluations, I realize I am lacking the time management but good at student interaction. It is commonly accepted that we can easily design a lesson plan with a clear timeline showing separate length of time for each section or activity, but do not have a skill to manage time properly when teaching in class. In fact, I am enthusiastic about the content or exercise of the lesson and attempt to delivery as much knowledge as possible to students but typically forget the timeline that may leads to the unbalanced portions of a lesson and exceed lesson’s duration. For example, I realize I extended the “Exercise Answer” time length longer than expected in the video due to my attempt to answer the questions rather than focusing on the technique in reading. In other words, a good teacher must know what the priority is and how to spend more time on more important sections and commit the timeline specified in the lesson plan. However, nobody can follow exactly the lesson timeline, so a good student teacher is required to have the time management skill and know how to deal with time if something is off the track. Therefore, a student teacher may check the time frequently and have a back-up plan if something goes wrong such as technique issues, late students’ presence and so on. The skill that I believe I am good at is student interaction. According to the new teaching method, students are learner- centered. I find it ineffective in transferring the knowledge if a student teacher teaches and talks all the time without any interaction with students. The students feel bored and cannot deeply absorb the knowledge, or even tend to ignore the lesson when teachers perform it via online flatform. To minimize the impact, student teacher must engage the students in the lesson by asking them some open questions, listening to their difficulties and giving feedback, letting them play some games or do activities designed in the lesson plan and so on. The utmost purpose is to make them communicative and attracted to the lesson naturally. For example, I tried to ask the students about their ideas and answers first, and carefully listened to their feedback. In fact, a good teacher is a good listener. Based on the students’ response and feedback, I can assess their ability and help them accordingly and this is the key benefit of interaction to students. Therefore, I think a teacher should be a guide and maintain the interactive environment throughout the class teaching. In conclusion, a student teacher needs to improve time management and student interaction skill to master a good class. These require me to have a detailed lesson plan first and practice teaching many times as saying, “Practice makes perfect”.