T P O 10 - Question 2 . All children should be required to learn a second language in school.

Nowadays, more and more professionals from underdeveloped or developing countries are choosing to live and work in richer countries. This migration will lead to problems such as skills shortages and economic stagnation in their hometown. Increasing the pay scale and offering better living standards for skilled professionals are the ways to retain talent. First of all, one of the major problems caused by such brain-drain is a shortage of experienced, which makes it difficult for poor countries to achieve economic development and improve the living standards of their poor people. Due to lack of skilful such as doctors and teachers, the citizens of these countries struggle to get basic facilities such as medical and education. For instance, a recent survey conducted by WHO (World Health Organization) revealed that the mortality rate is higher in underdeveloped countries due to shortage of skilled doctors. In addition to this, because of such migration of professionals, poor countries depend on foreign technical aid which costs them billions of dollars and further aggravates their economic instability issues. To illustrate, in 2011 the economy of Venezuela almost collapsed due to their huge spending to get foreign technical aid. In other words, transfer of skilled professionals from least developed or developing country creates problems such as skills shortages and economic instability in their countries. Secondly, however, there are various solutions to these problems such as offering better pay scale and better living conditions. One of the reasons professionals leaves their country, is to get better salaries and benefits. So, the officials can offer better salaries along with incentives to competent to entice them to live and work in their province. Another possible solution is to improve the standard of living, as every person is looking for a better standard of living. The authorities of these countries can spend their budget to improve the standard of living of its citizens by borrowing funds from external banks. In short, better pay scale and good standard of living are the best possible solutions to be undertaken by developing/underdeveloped countries to stop the shifting of talented people. Finally, adept professionals are leaving their underdeveloped homey because they do not have adequate opportunities there. Unfortunately, this shift hurts the development of their motherland and to stop this, the governments should launch special schemes and employment opportunities for the educated and aspiring youth.