Supporting the national team in international sports events is a form of patriotism.

It has been brought to my attention that people consider advocating for the national team when competing against international competitors in sports events a sign of patriotism. In my opinion, I partially agree with this statement and in this essay, I will give some reasons as well as examples. The first reason I think is that when the national sports team participates in international sports events, it represents national identity and pride. In other words, its homeland reputation among other nations worldwide in terms of sports depends on its performance in the championship. Therefore, it will be patriotic when people in this country show their support for the national team because it will bring motivation and energy for the team members when in the heart, they know that their fellow citizens stand by them in the battle for glory not only for their own but also for their country. However, I think that international sports events should serve only one purpose: being the place for accomplished athletes to compete rather than being the battlefield of politics; therefore, showing support for the national team should not be associated with political terms such as patriotism. Advocating for the national team should only be viewed as the expression of pure love for sports, thus being indifferent or disapproving of the national team should not be synonymous with treason, especially when the team performance is truly abhorrent. In conclusion, I agree that we should support the national team when they compete with a competitor over the world but it should be made an obligation for all people in the country.