Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Food Industry is a vital sector in any Country. Many countries has adopted different measures to ensure effective supply chain in their country. A country where the major livelihood is Agriculture, has to address to the main issue of whether to use imported goods or local produce. I think every nation has to protect their small scale industry and the people who live on that, so that their economy gets better and strong. Encouraging home grown produce is essential to promote the agriculture industry. Some suggest that exported goods can be harmful as the level of pesticide and other chemicals is difficult to identify. Being agriculturally rich helps any nation to create a healthy future generation. Exported goods might be cheaper and of lesser quality. However, people who is struggling to meet ends may opt for the cheaper goods. This will lead to less demand for the local produce. Small scale industry sector will face competition and gradually this sector will become just for namesake. Encouraging local produce is not just a way to strengthen the economy but it helps to create more jobs. In countries like India, where population is increasing on a daily basis, it is essential to create more jobs. Government can achieve this only by promoting the growth of agricultural industries locally. These days the lifestyle diseases are increasing and the alarming factor is that, the people who opted for vegan diet or healthy diet too has fallen for this. The main reason for this is that they are eating the food items loaded with chemicals. Governments of each country has to take drastic measures to create a healthier population. Economy, whether developing or developed, has to focus on promoting local produce by giving best price to customer without compromising on the profit for the farmers to create an active and energetic workforce. Any nation with this kind of workforce will succeed eventually and will maintain their success.