Supermarkets are selling more imported food than local ones. Why this is happening? Is it positive or negative trend?

It is true that supermarkets have started to sell less local food as a result of importing. This positive development of selling imported food has many benefits for both people and economy of governments; however, I think, there might be some exceptions of its positivity. There are many reasons why it is believed that selling and buying imported food is advantageous. First of all, international food is with more quality. Precisely, many people claim that the taste of fruits is, for example, not as satisfying as those abroad. In this case, to fulfill the wish of people, supermarkets tend to sell the demanding products. Another example would would be an opportunity to exchange with food products with other countries as well. If a government imports a type of food from one country, thanks to a contract between them, importing country can make a use of it to export its own products to that country. This kind of mutual benefit can significantly improve the food economy in countries. However, this development may seem to be negative because of several reasons. Firstly, an underestimation of local food by residents can extremely deteriorate the income of farmers and other food producing organizations. Conventionally, people see local food as with low quality even without checking it out. Thus, even if there is a high-quality food in a supermarket with almost no difference with those in other countries, people often find it reluctant to buy them without reading its label on it as there are more alternative options to choose. Often, these alternatives turn out be imported ones. Lured people by imported food despite even it costs higher than local one, they are prone to buy them because they are accustomed to do so. Seldom do people buy local products where another product seems to be better. To conclude, although importing food and selling it in supermarkets may have advantages for people to enjoy with high quality food and governments can exchange with their own products, reluctance to buy local food amid people can be arisen as a result of more imported options.