Man Sentenced to Life Over Theft of Hedge Clippers Is Granted Parole

The article «Man Sentenced to Life Over Theft of Hedge Clippers Is Granted Parole» from Oct. 17, 2020, is concerned with problem of life imprisonment in the state of Louisiana. It means, if you have four and more nonviolent conviction, you will be arrested and sentenced to life. The article is about life example of Wayne Bryant’s criminal history. It would be wise to mention here that he is not a killer or a member of a criminal gang, he was a drug addict who was in dire need of cash. Considering the situation, it should be mentioned that Wayne’s crimes consist mainly of thefts, but one of them was armed. The most «famous» of his offences was a theft of hedge clippers in 1997. The authors (Allyson Waller and Christina Morales) indicate that this criminal process attracted the attention of the American public to the Louisiana state’s law of the habitual offender. As lawyers posited, this law was imperfect and unfair to some extent, therefore in 2017 the state enacted changes to this law as part of the criminal justice reform package. As a matter of fact, this case drew attention from influential news outlets such as The Washington Post and USA Today, when the Louisan’s Supreme Court declined to hear Bryant’s case in August. It follows from these findings that authors write about unfairness of the old racist laws which are like to statutes enacted after Reconstruction (1865-1877) and importance of public coverage of trials, which allowed a man to get out of prison.