Summary of 'The new,old jamaica'

In the article ‘The New, Old Jamaica’ by Samira Habib classifies the mento folk music of Jamaica had made an admirable international comeback. The roots of mento music were homemade instruments used during the performance. The sound created has a mixture of calypso beats and American classical which reminds of American big band. In Spanish, the word mentar is ‘to mention’. Mento musicians have been dominated by reggae and ska. As a result, they were not recognized as Bob Marley and prince buster. The revival of Jamaican folk was overwhelmed by DJs, especially by DJ rocky. He’s attracted to the increasing demand for Jamaican music across the island. In addition, it is mostly heard in Toronto avenues and even in Germany and Japan. People were able to translate in the Jamaican language who didn’t even speak English. Stanley Beckford known mento artist named as L’Ambassadeur de Mento in France. After many years performed in mento groups, he released his first album in 2002. The renewed interest has grown internationally resulted in spreading Jamaican folk music in pubs where people got amazed with the sound.