Some people think that more shopping malls need to be constructed rather than public parks in cities.

Shopping malls and public parks are crucial not only for the development of cities but for the citizens also. Despite knowing this fact, some people argue that more shopping complex should be built instead of public parks. In my view these both are irreplaceable. To begin with, shopping complex are beneficial for economic development as well as customers. In other words, increasing number of shopping complex leads to increment in the investment by foreign brands in India. To exemplify, well-known foreign brands prefer to open their outlets in shopping malls like Adidas, Levi’s and many more, which brings in more foreign direct investment. Besides this, malls provide customers with a variety of goods under one roof. People can find each and every commodity at one place. For instance, shopping malls consist of shops of clothes, footwear, accessories, kitchen appliances, food and electronics. Hence, it benefits both economy and consumers. On the other hand, public parks have their separate and special role. Firstly, construction of public park aids in protecting the environment. These are proven to improve air quality, water quality along with this it prevents flooding. To cite an example, usually in urban areas air quality index is higher which can be mitigated by setting up more green spaces. In addition to this, in fact as a place for recreational activities. Individuals of all age groups can utilize parks for various purposes. For example, social gatherings can be organized by the elders, youngsters may use parks in order to stay healthy and it provides a place for children to play and connect with nature. To recapitulate, although, shopping malls are necessary but they cannot replace public parks. Therefore, while chalking out plans for cities governments must not refute the importance of either shopping malls or public parks.