Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

It is often believed by some people that the price of sugary drinks should be increased in order to convince the users to consume less sugar. I completely agree with this notion because it would not only make the consumers healthy but also influence them towards drinking diet drinks and less sugary products. To begin with, there are plenty of reasons to support this statement but the major one is that increasing the amount of sugary drinks would help people to become healthy and fit. To elaborate it, some individuals consume these kind of drinks on daily basis and end up with suffering from some serious diseases such as diabetes and obesity. If the government increase the price of such drinks, the consumers would find it very expensive to purchase and avoid to consume these drinks, which could keep them away from being unfit and unhealthy. The Times of India, for example, reported in 2017 that in India, 75% of the cases of diabetes patients are because of consuming sugary drinks. Thus, making such drinks expensive would be helpful for the users in terms of improve their health. Another worthwhile reason is that alleviating the market price of these commodities would gravitate the consumers towards adopting some healthy drinks which contain less or even zero sugar in their diet plan. As a result, people would make it their habit and be less interested to consume sugary drinks. For instance, Singapore authority put more tax on these types of drinks in 2018 and the local residents, after that, started drinking hurble tea instead of soft drinks. Therefore, price increment in such drinks would definitely help to reduce the consumption of sugar contained drinks. To conclude, due to improving individuals' well-being and being influencive for the consumers in terms of drinking healthy drinks, I believe that making sugary drinks more costly would be an effective action to encourage people to consume less sugar.