Successful learning experience

It was in the scorching summer season, April 2021 that I decided to learn how to swim. The global pandemic has been ongoing since January 2020 in our country with multiple nationwide lockdowns. Situations started to ease up a bit and cases of Covid had decreased considerably in that April that the government decided to lift up the ban and that’s when I decided to take a swimming lesson to combat my sedentary lifestyle exacerbated by working-from-home. I’ve always wanted to swim systematically since I was a child. I’ve had one-month swimming lessons that was offered by my elementary school when I was in 4th grade. Since I came from a family with modest means, my teaching lesson was kept short because the course was expensive. From that one-month course, I only learnt how to keep myself afloat in the water and simple front-crawl style. That course was the only swimming class I took in my entire life until April, 2021 and it was actually enough for me because I live nowhere near the water and I rarely go to swimming pools. Now that I have my own income, I’ve decided to actually learn how to swim again. My partner was my teacher so he put all his effort in teaching me. I first learned the most important task – breathing exercise. After that, since I know one basic swimming style, we move on to learning breaststroke swimming style, which was known as the easiest and fastest style to master for a starter. To my surprise, it only took me three days to learn the right way of doing a breaststroke! I wouldn’t be too quick in learning this style if I didn’t have a competent teacher that was only fo-cusing 100% beside me. I know the goal is to learn how to swim but I’ve come to learn that I love the process of learning. I loved every moment that I was in the water. I loved how the waves of water felt on my face when I dived into the water. I loved that, guided by systemic breath and movements, I was able to actually move in the water with ease. Most of all, my main purpose in the first place had been fulfilled and that I actually feel a sense of accomplishment, feel more agile and more productive in my work. This learning experience has taught me to never stop learning and that there are always benefits in each skill. Now, aside my teaching job, I am now starting to learn painting!