Studying the English language in an English-speaking country is the best but not the only way to learn the language.

These days, there are many effective ways to learn a foreign language. It is clear that a student can learn English to a high level in his/her home country; however, studying in an English speaking country can lead to faster language learning due to immersion in the culture. These days, students in non-English-speaking countries commonly learn English to an acceptable level in high schools and universities in their own countries. Although their spoken English may not be that accurate or fluent, their knowledge of grammar is often quite good, which is extremely important when students come to an English speaking country to try and perfect their use of the language. In addition to this, studying the basics of English at secondary school in one’s home country is less stressful than learning the language while overseas. This is because students living at home do not have the anxiety caused by problems such as finding accommodation, financing a foreign trip and trying to survive in a foreign country where day to day living away from support networks of friends and family may cause stress. On the other hand, there are several obvious advantages to learning English in English speaking countries. Every day there are frequent chances to practice listening to and speaking with native speakers, which leads to faster learning. If a student chooses to live with a local host family which does not speak her first language, she can immerse himself in the language and experience the culture first-hand, helping to improve fluency. Furthermore, if students attend an English language school full-time, the teachers will be native speakers. In this case, not only do the student’s speaking and listening skills improve, but attention can be given to developing reading and writing skills as well. In conclusion, even though it is clearly desirable to study English in an English-speaking country, a reasonable level of English can be achieved at home if a student is hardworking and motivated to improve. Hopefully in the future, more students will have the opportunity to study languages abroad.