Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to.

Travelling is one of the favorite activities of numerous people around the world. Currently, more and more people go for holidays in foreign countries. Although this is good for tourism, others think that there is an adverse impact on the places these tourists are visiting to. Hence, this essay will argue why tourism can cause a complete adverse impact on the tourist destination if not properly managed by the tourism board and its government. Tourism has been one of the main sources of economic growth for many countries around the world. People from western countries frequently travel to Asia to experience nice sunny weather and beautiful beaches. For instance, Thailand has generated billions of revenues from tourists who are visiting Bangkok and Phuket to enjoy their tropical weather. As a result, this has generated a major boost in their tourism industry, which also produced more jobs among several local Thai people. Conversely, tourism can also create environmental damage due to high influx of tourists which later can cause detrimental impact on the lives of local people, as well as the commercial growth of the region. Firstly, an increase number of tourists result to high number of waste materials being dumped in water and land. Secondly, the natural resources can be threatened due to irresponsible actions of several tourists who are inconsiderate of their surroundings. And thirdly, coral reefs and sea animals will be endangered due to toxic materials that are being used by several divers from their diving suits and equipment. A good example of this is the Boracay Island in the Philippines. Boracay is named one of the most beautiful islands in the world. Since then, numerous tourists have visited the island to experience its fine white sand and pristine beautiful clear water. However, due to the increasing number of travellers each year, more and more establishments have started to build in the Island. Unfortunately, several establishments did not follow the rules and regulations on how to properly dump waste materials in the water. At the same time, tourists do not appropriately throw their trash which affected the white sand of Boracay w. As a result, the government was forced to shut down Boracay from all tourists in order for it to rehabilitate and to naturally heal itself from all the wastes materials the island has endured from its visitors. In conclusion, although tourism industry can give economic and commercial growth to a country, not properly managing the natural resources just to accommodate all the tourists will have an extremely harmful impact to the livelihood and businesses of numerous local people. Most importantly, the rich natural habitat will be severely affected if the government do not protect them from irresponsible and inconsiderate tourists. Thus, in my opinion and citing the above reason, I completely agree that tourism can have a severe adverse impact to one’s economy if government will not be able to handle tourists properly.