Study on Employee Engagement Finds 70% of Workers Don't Need Monetary Rewards to Feel Motivated

Since the advent of modern times, people have spent much of their lives working on their occupations which helped improve society. In return, they achieve money and social status. People may work diligently on their careers in order to get extra money or obtain public recognition. From my perspective, public recognition has much of a magnificent role in motivating people to work harder. There are numerous reasons to support my opinion, among which two stand out. First and foremost, people have a keen desire to be the center of attention or in the public eye. They make every effort to be acclaimed by their manager or get praise. In this way, they feel the company know the value of their work, time, and skill. In addition, the workplace environment becomes friendlier and helps mitigate the stress and pressure on the employees. For example, we have a chart in our workplace that the manager and colleagues sort and get a score for each employee based on work, behave, and co-working. At the end of each month, the manager sums the score and introduces the company's most valuable employee. Then the company praise the employee and gives her/him a voucher for a restaurant in front of other employees. This procedure causes every employee to make every effort to be the most valuable employee of the month, reaching enough attention. If the company gives extra money instead of social recognition to the employees, they will not motivate to work harder. Second, when people get public recognition for their work, they feel joy and satisfaction, giving them a sense of progress. It helps increase their self-confidence and reach self-actualization. On the other hand, when getting extra money for their work, employees think to themselves, 'this amount of money was not worth it 'or 'so what? ', and these questions cause frustration. Nowadays, this trivial money does not satisfy anyone because they cannot buy a house or address some of their essential demands. By getting public recognition, not only do people feel progress but also encourage them to work harder. As a result, they work diligently to obtain more public recognition, helping them flourish. To sum up, employees require something that they could feel and incent them to work diligently. Either getting extra money or achieving social recognition could motivate employees to work harder. Nevertheless, I personally believe that public recognition does more good than evil. First, it could convey this message to the employees that the company know the value of their work, and second, it acts as an incentive to people make much more effort to develop in their career and give them a sense of progress.