Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

There is no doubt that most of the adolescents rather use social media to get in touch with new people. There are some reasons why this is happening such as the comfort it brings and the money you save not going out. However, it can be solved by dropping the prices for young people or make safe environments to protect them. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons associated with this problem and propose some solutions. Firstly, one of the main reasons for this is the safety of your own environment. To illustrate, when you are in your bedroom using your laptop, you are the one who manages the situation and you can control everything since the beginning to the end. As a consequence, if you do not like something about the other person, you can stop talking to him immediately. Another reason is the cost of going to pubs and restaurants. Nowadays, fewer young people have a proper job where they earn enough money to be spent on leisure time, and the more people you want to meet the more money you have to spend. Therefore, they choose to stay at home and save the money they have. By contrast, there are some changes that can be implemented such as creating new spaces where teenagers can share their hobbies and meet new people while they feel safe and secure. As a result, they are going to act like if they were at home and they would know everything is under control. In addition, the government should decrease considerably the prices for them, because if we have the perfect environment but not the proper prices, they would not consume and it is not going to be beneficial for the pubs. To conclude, while there are important reasons why adolescent choose to use social media to meet people, there are some solutions which can be implemented to change the situation.