Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active

Some researches show that today children spend more time on watching TV than they did previously, and the time spent for active or creative activities becomes fewer. There are several reasons for this situation, and it could be addressed by some definite actions. Reasons for mentioned situation are various. The first reason is that nowadays both parents often work, they do not have time for their children. Then, they enhance children to do whatever activities that do not require so much attention or do not dangerously such as watching television. The second reason is that the programs on TV attract children by vivid contents or even addictive contents. Cartoon Network channel is an example, it has many serial cartoon movies played all day; therefore children just open TV and watch their favorite scenes. These two reasons lead children to spend more time in front of TV screen, and this sedentary lifestyle prevents them from involving physical & creative activities. However, there are at least two actions could tackle this issue. Firstly, children should be limited the watching time by activating timing control on the TV controller. This might help children to participate other activities like painting or kung-fu courses. Secondly, parents should save their time for taking care their children. By doing homeworks together with their children or go out for outside activities, they could bring an active lifestyle to their offspring. These solutions enable children to quit their watching TV habit and to become more active and creation. In conclusion, there are various reasons why children watch TV too much as spend little time on active and create activities. But, this negative status could be tackled by set of appropriate actions.