Students should pay the full cost of their own university studies, rather than have free higher education provided by the state. with this statement?

Free tertiary education has always spark heated debates all over the world. I, personally, completely disagree that higher education cost should be borne by students because that would prevent the waste of talent resource and also it is a form investment for the government in the long run. When higher education comes with a cost, it creates an inefficient allocation of the human resource. This is because when there is a financial constraint, some students from the less privileged background are forced to choose the courses that either is not too costly or have good employability prospects and not necessarily courses that the students want most or are best at. As a result, for example, instead of being an excellent artist, the student can only be a mediocre accountant because he cannot utilise all his potential in his chosen field, causing a waste of talent; free higher education can prevent this problem. The second reason why tertiary education should be free is because if the government chooses not to spend money on free education, they will see rising expenditures in other areas. For example, a less educated workforce bears a higher risk of unemployment in the economic downturn, and thus the government’s coffers for unemployment aid would need to increase. Furthermore, unskilled labour earns much less than college-educated people do, and thus they contribute less income tax i. e. less revenue for the government. Not to mention, the highly skilled population is essential to any country’s economic growth in the long run. In conclusion, because free education allows students to learn what they enjoy most and are best at, it can ensure better allocation of the human resource. Furthermore, free education can reduce unemployment cost in the economic downturn, increase government’s tax revenue, and increase economic growth in the long run. Thus, I completely disagree that students should pay for their higher education.