Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society.

Nowadays, with the development of education and the higher need of knowledge economy, more and more people are deciding to go to university. Some argue that because higher education is not beneficial for society, students ought to self-fund for their tuition fees. I completely disagree with this statement because of the reasons listed below. To begin with, that governments do not pay tuition fee will lessen learning opportunities for gifted students who have financial issues. For instance, prodigies who come frome less privileged background might not be able to reach full potential in their chosen fields and have less a chance of a successful career. Thus, a supposed brilliant scientist might just be a mediorce accountant, causing a waste of talent. This is because universities usually have the best professors and necessary facilities, and without attending one, gifted students might not be able to improve their skills. Moreover, companies in general tend to hire someone with a degree since it's a proof of capability and diligence. Consequently, students who can't afford to pursue higher education won't have good employability prospects. Second, investment in education is greatly beneficial for society. For example, a less educated workforce bears a greater risk of unemployment in the economic downturn, which leads to problems such as homelessness, crimes and other social evils. Furthermore, unskilled labour earns much less than educated people do, and therefore they contribute less income tax, less revenue for the government. Besides, the highly skilled individuals that universities product is essential to solve many urgent problems such as population growth, global warming, and so on. In conclusion, an investment in education can help gifted but less privileged students have a fairer chance at life, and contribute greatly to many aspects of society. Therefore, government should have policy to support students to attend higher education for many benefits it brings, both individually and socially.