students should pay for their studies?

Nowadays most of students opt to go to university and study a higher education, however it is well known that most of them could not afford the education until this point. Which begs the next question: how could students pay for their own studies if they do not have enough money? In the first place, we need to look carefully at the history about education and how it works. No long time ago, studying at the university was a luxury system where the only ones that could enter in and learn from the masters were nobility, priests and kings. Consequently, the rest of the citizens had a seriously lack of knowledge and they just followed those with knowledge blindly. Thankfully, this situation changed and now we can say that most of the population in developed countries have their own critical thinking and are able to lead their lives. For this reason, this situation would not be possible if the studies were not free for all of us due to there are people with amazing skills that cannot pay the amount of money required to study. Another essential point is that the view against students who are likely to earn higher than the rest of the population makes no sense at all. These future professionals will contribute for their own country and help to develop it. Apart from that, if we watch out at the trends over the time carefully, we can see that many people opt to go abroad in a country which provides free higher education and then probably they would work there too. In other words, countries spend a huge amount of money in basic formation (colleges and high schools), then they loss most of these professionals in another country because of they had to study abroad just for no give free higher education. All in all, I believe that the state should give a free education, as it benefits us in every way.