Some people believe that air travel should be restricted as it causes air pollution.

It is often believed that traveling by air degrades the quality of air by causing air pollution and hence there some restrictions on air travel must be imposed. I completely disagree with this conviction and think that it is not necessary to restrict traveling by air. Firstly, traveling by air is not the major reason for the presence of air pollution. In other words, fumes and exhausts given out by an airplane or a helicopter are not the sole culprits of polluted air as there are several causes for this negative development. For example, recent research conducted by the Environmental Studies department of Indian Institute of Science reveals that 60% of the total air pollution is due to vehicles and industries, whereas air travel constitutes 10%. Hence, it is wrong to impose restrictions only on air travel. Doing so will not improve or eradicate air pollution as the main culprits are still under operation. In addition to this, placing stringent rules on air travel can have deleterious effects on the lives of people as air traveling is the only practical option for long-distance traveling. Traveling by water is not an option as it takes a long time and can also be dangerous during monsoon. For instance, it takes around 4 days( 1 day to get to Chennai by road and three days to get to the islands by boat) to get to Andaman and Nicobar islands from Bangalore. If one were to take an airplane, one can reach the islands in four hours. This saves time and also money involved in this travel. Therefore, placing restrictions on traveling can causes inconvenience to a number of passengers.