Students should have freedom to choose their own subjects in the examination for grade 9 in Secondary Education.

In this day and age, as it is inescapable that education is one of the most dominant ways leading to success, students, especially senior ones, have to shoulder such a heavy curriculum with a wide range of subjects. However, I am of the view that students should be free to choose their own subjects in the examination for grade 9 in Secondary Education. On the one hand, it is believed that perpetuating the current course is an ultimate choice. Admittedly, at the early age of 14, pupils couldn’t fully orientate their future, so having a comprehensive study program and exam might be necessary. Nevertheless, forcing children to work hard in every field eventually bring about more pros than cons. Not only are students robbed of creativity and enthusiasm, but they also couldn’t learn thoroughly. Since this contributes to a decrease in productivity, I don’t agree with this point of view. As far as I’m concerned, it is better to implement a new system of freedom to choose study subjects in view of educational efficiency. It is perceivable that the more passionate pupils are with a specific subject, the faster and more effortlessly they absorb information. Moreover, with the in-depth focusing and reduction in curriculum, schedule conflict, the integral factor resulting in ineffectiveness, is no longer a splitting headache to students. As a result, they get a chance to fulfill the most intensive pursuit of knowledge and employ it in practical application. This helps considerably enhance their performances in the test, as well as forms a sustainable basis for their future orientation in university and enriches choice of career, in lieu of just those regarding science and technology being prioritized. For instance, in recent years, the labor market has witnessed a growth in the area of art jobs, such as design or architecture, stemming from visual demand with more than 3000 domestic companies working in this field. In conclusion, although a comprehensive course is beneficial and sensible, I believe that the freedom to choose a study program for examinations reigns supreme. This system can be applied by dividing subject fields and letting students make their own decision.