Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers.

For many of us, a large portion of our days is spent at work; in fact, the average person will spend one-third of his lifetime at work. It's safe to say our job can make a significant impact on our quality of life. Consequently, finalizing a major in university becomes the make or break decision, which sets the course of remaining life. Some believe that scholars should go for those areas of expertise that guarantee financial security. In contrast, others, including me, champion the thought that students should be given full freedom while selecting their career path without any pressure or prejudice. We live in a materialistic society where a man's worth is usually determined by the size of his house, the brand of his car, the travel posts on his Instagram, and his acquisition in general. From the moment we are born or perhaps even before it, we are trained not only to survive but lead the rat race. Many led by the mind go for jobs that can fulfill their materialistic temperament. There is nothing wrong with aiming for all the comforts and luxuries of life, provided the decision is free-willed and not pressurized. But learners should be mindful that money alone cannot give them eternal joy and happiness. Others, led by heart, go for their passion as a vocation to lead a more meaningful life. Before making the life-changing decision, one should pause and ponder about the life one aspires with the life one genuinely seeks to live. Though our mind will suggest choosing the 'sensible' option, we should pursue our passion. At times, life may get more challenging than working for a large corporation with a six-digit pay package. But, when we do what we love, we are ready to face any difficulties to make it work. Following our calling, we connect to ourselves at a deeper level, thereby gaining the courage to question the mad rush, thus helping to select the appropriate majors at university. In conclusion, we are not merely here to live a robotic life, collecting worldly possessions. Instead, we should aim to live a more contented and inspired life by being true to our authentic selves.