Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers

Current day tertiary students are faced with a simple question, whether they should study for a high-paying job or do what they love? Many people in society seem to agree that students must prepare themselves for jobs with good pay checks thus applying to such universities. Personally, I disagree and will explain my reasons in this essay. I believe money is not everything in life instead, he/she must enjoy what they engage themselves in. Choosing a university that entitles you to a high-paying career while not having any interests in the selected field is a fool's errand. Four years down the line after investing your hard earned money and time into a career that you did not have a liking for since the beginning will never yield you any happiness or satisfaction. Let me give you an example, a friend of mine was forced to study electronics while he was completely invested in computers. He did not enjoy those four years of study that he had to go through and by the end of it, he had already forgotten what he had studied. He instead focused on computers and learnt it side-by-side. Fun and happiness is a currency of the mind that often goes unseen and students must not have to go through it. Secondly, if every student pursued a high paying career then there would be no balance in the working sector after graduation. To put it into perspective, if everyone studied to be an engineer then we would have barely to no people studying agriculture or carpentry for example which are both important fields to have people interested in from an economic point of vie of any nation. Plus, from the on-going pandemic it is clear that a county is not run solely by it's government or careers with huge pay checks but instead by people with seemingly small jobs having a huge impact on the overall situation. Maintaining balance in any situation is important even in terms of a job. In conclusion, society needs to build a new point of view to the traditional one that students must only prefer high paying jobs. Money is not the most important factor, it all comes down whether he/she is comfortable and happy with it and that not everyone bends in just one direction but instead look at where people are needed for maintaining balance.