Students should be required to wear uniforms at school.

The question as to whether students should wear uniforms in schools is becoming increasingly contentious. Opponents of school uniforms might argue that uniforms not only can be uncomfortable with some pupils but they also can become an issue for poor families; meanwhile, the opponents might insist that uniforms can help students break down social and cultural walls, making it easier for the children to interact with one another and save a lot of time for both parents and pupils. In my personal opinion, I strongly believe that it is essential for students to wear uniforms in school daily. First of all, uniforms help parents and their offspring choose their clothes to wear to school more easily. It is true that parents and students always spend a great deal of time each morning only picking clothing pieces that are considered to be formal and appropriate for school, and this routine can result in students being late for school and wasting a large amount of time. If schools require pupils to wear uniforms every day, the amount of time that is wasted to mix and combine children’s outfits will be greatly reduced. In addition, parents do not have to spend much money on uniforms because they can be reused if the family has 2 or more children studying in the same school. A study from Oxford University based on data in the period of 5 years from 2010 found that a family in the United State averagely saves 563. 4 dollars annually due to reuse their uniforms. Secondly, the social and cultural gap between students will certainly be shortened when everyone wears uniforms. Nowadays, most schools encounter students from all levels of society and even international ones so that the economic and social lines do obviously exist in education. Moreover, many teenagers always judge others by what they wear and how they look, which can negatively affect the school environment and the mental health of other pupils. Those problems can be tackled by applying a uniform policy that makes all students wear the same formal clothes. Consequently, it is possible for the teachers to equalize the economic and social status in schools. In conclusion, the establishment of a school uniform policy is indispensable since uniforms not only save a great deal of time but also shorten social lines.