Students should be encouraged to take part in exchange programs in today’s global world. with this opinion?

It is a common belief that studying abroad may not be advantageous to students. However, I firmly believe that exchange programs should be encouraged in today’s global world. More and more students are participating in these programs every year, leaving their home university for one or two semesters while continuing their studies in an international institution partner in another country. It is not hard to see why these students are taking advantage of the program. To be specific, exchange students can improve their foreign language skills and will have more opportunities in their professional career. To begin with, thanks to the international mobility, students become fluent in the second language. Visiting another country gives a context to language learning because students can apply their language skills. In fact, research studies have shown that the best way to master a language is practicing it every day. Therefore, students become rapidly competent in their second language because they have to immerse themselves in another language and expand their skills in a foreign study environment. On top of that, after graduation, exchange students have better opportunities in labor market. It is true that multinational companies prefer applicant with experiences of studying overseas, not only because of their foreign language level, but also for other reasons. To illustrate, by taking part in exchange programs, students can learn about other cultures, build their global network, develop their self-confidence and gain some necessary skills for their future jobs… These transversal skills such as the adaptability, the cultural awareness, the capacity of developing social relationships, … are highly appreciated by employers. That’s why international exchange really increases the students’ chances of employability. To sum up, studying overseas can help students to develop rapidly their language skills and enhance their job opportunities. For these reasons, I think that we should promote exchange programs.