Some people think that schools should require students to participate in extracurricular sports programs. Other, however, think that students should be able to choose activities that they want to do. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Non-scholastic activities are important because they help students to relax after classes, to build and develop different skills. Schools usually offer a variety of extracurricular programs including sports, the arts, technology, community services … There is a common belief that we should let students to choose themself what they want to do. However, I support the idea that sports programs should be mandatory for all students. On the one hand, some people think that students should be free to decide their after-school activities. To be specific, students can choose the activities that they found interesting based on their preferences. It is also a great opportunity for students to explore their potential abilities and competences. For instance, children who take part in performing arts may grow up to be professional actors. Nevertheless, there is a more persuasive argument that all students are required to play sports during their extra classroom programs. In fact, it is evident that physical activities are necessary for a healthy way of life, especially for children’s growth and development. Exercising can also improve focus, school performance, sleep and energy levels. When playing sports, chemicals in the brain are stimulated and make players feel better. So doing regularly physical activities improves students’ emotinal wellbeing. Moreover, studies have shown that sports have psychological benefits for children and adolescents and teach them important life skills. To illustrate, playing in a teams help young people to develop many social skills that they need for life: it teaches them to cooperate, to be less selfish, and to listen to others. When playing sports, children are also expected to follow the rules, to make new friends and build their social relationships. In conclusion, involvement in extra-academic activities leads to positive long-term outcomes. Playing sports is a great way for students to take a break from academics, provides them not only physical benefits but also social and psychological benefits. For these reasons, I think that sports programs should be a mandatory part of after-school activities.