Students in university education should develop specialist in one subject area rather than develop wider range of different subjects.

Education in one particular field is a popular form of a college education today. However, some people think that students should focus on a variety of subjects. But let us train experts in one subject area. Those students only majoring in one subject will be more competitive in employment. The reason is that they have more time to study and have a deeper understanding because they only focus on one subject so that they are better able to solve severe problems efficaciously. If students focus on a wide range of subjects, it is not able to proficient in a subject in a limited time. For example, the area of engineering sets strict demands on students, and they will lack profound insights about engineering in a case focusing on many subjects. The one-subject education that universities teach students only one subject can save education costs and increase efficiency. The reason is that one-subject education, which is a highly developed education model, can train the student for generations using the same educational resources. Therefore, it can reduce a teacher’s workload and improve efficiency. For example, it is feasible that teachers prepare one set of lesson plans which can be utilized repeatedly with little modifies. There are opponents arguing that scholars who gain knowledge from an extensive area of subjects will expand the horizon and enhance performance, which could behave better at a leadership position admittedly. However, it is feasible that we can learn new knowledge applying free time, considering it will be leisure when graduates start a career initially, which will better than taking precious time in university. In conclusion, taking a one-subject education is an optimal choice when college students are limited by time.