Child obesity is a growing concern on a global scale. Many believe that it is a government’s responsibility to fight this problem. Others believe that it is the parents’ duty to look after the health of their children. With whom do you agree? Why?

With an alarming rise in the population of obese children, it is considered as a global crisis. It is true that government should take preventive measures or make some policies to correct this problem. However, in my opinion, it is the parents who can play a vital role in the eradication of this problem. I will prove my opinion with reasons in the following paragraphs. First, children mostly spend their time at home with parents. It is only after certain age (3 years in India) that they start going out or school alone. Therefore, parents can help them in building healthy living habits. They can encourage their child to take part in physical activities rather than sitting at home and using technology (mobile phones, tv, computer, laptops). Further, a mother has a major role to play in her child’s eating habits. What a child is going to eat all day is decided by the mother. So, it is important for a mother to give healthy foods to the child. For example, it is proven that a new-born should only feed on mother’s milk for 6 months. But some parents start giving different types of foods to their kids. All these habits sometimes lead to the obesity of the child. Thus, in my opinion, role of the parents in teaching their children about the healthy eating and living habits is very crucial for the health of the children. Encouraging them to be physically active can be a solution to this increasing problem of obesity