Local governments are pushing companies to move from large cities to regional locations. What are the benefits and drawbacks of this?

There is a persistent trend of relocating businesses outside big metropolises into rural areas by local elected officials. This begets definite advantages for both industries and conurbations yet substantial drawbacks also emerge as this transition is being put into practice. This essay will discuss both sides and then infer whether this step is a valuable development. On the one hand, there are several root causes to consider moving companies outside the cities all-time best decision. First, businesses may benefit from abundance of natural resources necessary for manufacturing in some industries and also from hiring personnel for smaller salaries and lower prices for tenancy, which altogether might help companies to gain a foothold in a new place efficiently and with minimal overheads. Additionally, it is not only industries who profit from this development but also far-flung regions which could flourish since relocation of businesses might help to boost deprived areas and resolve the problem of rural unemployment. Furthermore, this might reduce strain on infrastructure of large metropolises and lessen its overcrowding and pollution. On the other hand, the initiative may not appear as appealing considering its drawbacks. Having said that, there could be scarcity of highly-qualified and well-informed workers in regional areas, which makes employment advantage loose its relevance. Moreover, rural infrastructure might be often less developed which in some cases implies delays in transportation of goods produced by companies and consequent loss of customers and providers. Ultimately, businesses in remote areas might disturb delicate balance of nature as we can see in situation with paper mill near Baykal lake in Russia. Although, there could several steps to address these shortcomings such as effective legislations against excessive damage to the local environment and betterments in regional infrastructure and education. As such it can be concluded that relocating enterprises outside large metropolises has numerous virtues, however its drawbacks so far hinder this initiative to become a widespread trend and steps to rectify the situation have yet to be taken.