Students get distracted from studies due to constant use of digital technology

It is quite true digital technology is doing more harm to students than any good. There is no denying the fact that this boom in the IT revolution has taken its toll. As the axiom goes 'Excess of everything is bad. ’ children have shown enormous interest in the virtual reality created by IT revolution. Easy access to smart phones, tabs, laptops, internet compatible TV, internet, etc. has adversely affected the contemporary children. They prefer sitting glued to the LED screens of the above mentioned devices at the cost of their games and sports, and studies. Even while studying or doing homework, the slightest beep from an electronic gadget is enough to distract them. They no longer know the joys of playing outdoor games. So their health has deteriorated considerably. Their impressionably minds are at risk of being exposed to vulgar and obscene sites teeming on internet. Besides, sitting for long hours in front of these screens affects their eyes, as well as mind. They remain tense, always busy processing one thing or another. They don't have peace of mind. They have forgotten the art of writing letters, reading books, comics, listening to stories from grandparents, etc. Whatsapp, Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, Twitter, PUBG and other online games and pleasures keep them engrossed. This addiction is not going to stand them in good stead. This is going to deprive them of physical and mental strength that one gets from playing outdoor games and reading books. The elders must play a proactive role in stopping them from going astray. The need of the hour is to take precautions and cautions in the use of internet by children. The teachers and parents must teach children the art of using internet wisely. The Government must make some internet regulatory strategies to keep the young children away from the negative influences of the internet. Failing to do so is surely going to have repercussions.