job hunting for a medical doctor

It is perhaps not unusual for individuals who wish to be involved in cancer research to have a personal connection to cancer, usually in the form of a relative or loved one suffering the illness. In my particular case, the death of my grandfather, stimulated my wish to make a contribution to human wellbeing. As I grew older, I reached the conclusion that, based on my academic and personal skills, the best contribution that I could personally make to save lives would take the form of a career in scientific research that sought to unlock the mysteries of cancers and work towards creating new treatments for the different forms of the disease. Love to help people, I studied medicine at Tehran University of Medical Science, Iran, then interested in molecular medicine, I chose pathology for my specialty. Willing to continue my education, I went to Spain in 2014, where I studied hematopathology. I was interested in learning all technological aspects associated with this activity such as immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics and molecular biology. My interest in going beyond the diagnostic activity led me to collaborate in a research project on diffuse large B-cell lymphoma by reviewing the pathology and phenotype of the cases. The project led to a publication in Leukemia where I was a coauthor. (Karube K et al Integrating genomic alterations in diffuse large B-cell lymphoma identifies new relevant pathways and potential therapeutic targets. Leukemia 2018) Back to my country, I tried to find a way to expand my knowledge in molecular pathology and genetics and I worked as surgical and clinical pathologist at Kasra Hospital, Tehran, Iran. Later I could enter Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, Miller School of Medicine, Miami, FL, USA in 2016 as a research assistance where I was actively learning different molecular techniques for almost two years. This was a great opportunity for developing further my career. In addition, where possible, I visited different departments including molecular diagnostic lab, genetic department and cancer genetic clinic. My goal was to get more understanding of latest cancer treatment with targeted therapy and hereditary cancer syndromes.