Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community. Compare the advantages of living in university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in the community. Where would you prefer to live?

University education is the most important milestone of an individual's professional and personal growth. The time spent during university leaves a deep impact on most of the students. Students benefit from the professional relationship built during this time as well as the learnings they get from the mentors and fellow students. The living environment plays a key role for an individual student for the duration of their education. Broadly, there are two modes of residency a student can choose, university dormitories and apartments in a community. Both have their own positives and negatives. We will shed some light on both to strike a basic comparison. Most large universities facilitate dormitories for its students. While a few mandate the students to live in dormitories, most keep it optional for the students to choose. With the university's perspective, students staying in hostels enable them to maintain discipline and make it easy for them to administer the students. It becomes easy for the University's administration to engage students for events, motivate students with different programs and furthermore it helps the university to keep an eye on the student's progress in non-academic activities too. With the Student's perspective, staying in the University hostel is convenient, since if the university campus is really large, a student would waste a lot of time in commute is staying at a far place. It also helps a student to have group study sessions and working groups to grow in academics and co-curricular activities. Since hostel accommodation is not suitable for many students because of few negatives like ragging, harassment and lack of privacy, many students prefer to have their own arrangement. Students prefer to live in apartments in communities either sharing with a fellow student or living as a paying guest with a family. This has many advantages such as the students can tailor the room as per their demand and preference. It also helps students to live an affordable living and save the cost. Students get their privacy and space to study without getting disturbed by nuances. While it has advantages, it can also make a student lonely which can increase the stress resulting into problems like depression. In a nutshell, every student can have their personal preferences and should decide what suits them best. Personally, I would prefer living in a hostel accommodation where I can learn new things, make new friends and build new bonds with beautiful experiences. As every individual is unique, their needs are unique, University Administration can work towards making the hostels suit to the students’ needs as much as possible. Students can use the experience to the betterment of their career.