Students are relying more and more upon technology and the internet to study. Some people see this as a benefit; others believe students are losing their ability to think for themselves.

Nowadays, students are depending on technology and the internet more often when studying. This essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages of students using technology and the internet when learning. Firstly, one of the benefits of using the internet is that the students do not need to memorize all the facts and information. Moreover, students have extra time to focus on other things such as solving the problem and creativity. On the other hand, they need to search for the information on the internet if they do not memorize the information. This leads to the fact that they have to depend on the internet too much which is harmful. Secondly, schools and universities have integrated technologies, such as applications, augmented reality (AR) and devices, to assist with students’ learning. This makes the learning process more interesting since the lessons become more interactive using technologies. In addition, students can also visualize the lessons more clearly. For instance, students do not need to slice a dead frog body to see what organs are in the frog. Today, they just need to open an application in the mobile device and they can see the frog's internal organs in the real world using augmented reality(AR). Although technologies are helpful in learning, the students have to look at the screen which can damage the eyes when looking for a long period of time. But, this problem can be solved by limiting the screen time. Finally, students can look up the solutions on the internet when they are stuck with a problem they cannot solve. They can learn what mistakes they made when solving the problem. However this can be helpful, students can copy the solutions from the internet without solving the problem by themselves. This can be prevented by warning the students who plagiarize the information from the internet. To conclude, technology and the internet helps the students to study comfortably and conveniently. Therefore, I believe that the benefits of students using technology and the internet outweigh the drawbacks but it has to be done with control.