Students are encouraged to take travel or work for one year after high school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Taking time off from formal education has become an on-going trend among the younger generation. It is a break between the end of high school and the beginning of a university year. Although some students would spend the year touring different countries, others would get a job or volunteer. Nonetheless, this essay would discuss the immense growth opportunities the gap year has to offer despite the possibility of future academic drawback. Firstly, the advantages from taking a year off school are enormous. It ultimately encourages maturity. The student gets to experience a well-rounded professional, intellectually, culturally and self growth. For example; a student who spends the year travelling would be exposed to diverse cultural background which will in turn push them beyond the boundaries of their norms. They would get to try different cuisines and communicate with natives of the country they are visiting. Furthermore, a young individual that decided to work would experience the work place setting which would constantly test their ideas and believes. In some cases, the person may develop an inert interest to follow that career path because of their work experience. This heightened self-awareness and maturity are therefore advantageous in a long-run. However, being away from formal education for such extended period of time can be detrimental to the young person’s academics. The break can result in the student losing good reading habits and sense of discipline they had while in a formal education structure. In addition, there is a high tendency of becoming sidetracked from studies. For example, they may become deluded with the money they are making which would rob them the chance of a university or college education. Hence, the future opportunity to earn higher income later in life becomes impossible as a result of these complications from study break. In conclusion, the decision to take time off school is an individual decision. Although there is a risk of losing purpose; however, the benefits as a result of the level growth to attain surpasses that disadvantage.