Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

In today's globalised world, technology is becoming a ubiquitous part of learning and learners are becoming more dependent on computers and laptops. This essay will discuss one of the main problems associated with dependence on computers and suggest a viable solution. The principal problems with over-reliance on technology such as computers and laptops are allowed them to use word processes with spell-checkers, hence it leads their handwriting and spelling may suffer. The second problem is that computers are expensive to maintain and can be unreliable. Furthermore, the plagiarism is one of the huge problems in order to work with laptops. For example, many teachers complain that students copy web pages straight from Wikipedia word for word rather than giving a reasoned answer to their questions. A solution to these worrying problems is that students should be able to write a letter by hand, in other words, they should sometimes utilise traditional sources of information such as books. Moreover, the solution of plagiarism is asking students to email their answers to teachers using anti-plagiarism software to detect copying. Then, students would be made aware of this practice and this would help them to answer the questions using their own words, rather than someone's else's. For instance, many universities already use this kind of software to scan course work for falsification and it could be extended to include all homework, by learners in both secondary and tertiary education. To conclude, one of the main problems of with over-use of computers is plagiarism and this can be solved through the use of plagiarism detection software.