Stricter Traffic Punishment

I believe that stricter punishment for driving offenses is an effective way to force people to obey the traffic rules. However, this is not the only way to maintain roads safe. This essay will explain different methods to encourage (not force) people to obey the laws and the probable negative results of much more traffic fines upon people. As known, the rules are put into effect to ensure that people obey them, and as a result, people have a safe and independent life by respecting each other's rights. By the same aspect, traffic rules maintain the conditions ranging from safe roads to safe people. The question is who the main actors are in the traffic? The answer is simply people. Therefore, we need to focus on people at the first stage instead of punishing them. The most powerful system to shape minds is education. For this reason, educators must teach traffic lessons to people from early school years. In addition to this, driver candidates need to get tested carefully. In the end, the satisfying results will exactly be safe traffic conditions. Higher fines might have a positive deterrent effect on reducing traffic crime rates in a short period. However, the rules depending on fear would negatively affect people's lives and behaviors for a long while. They would have a short budget and be forced to pay considerable amounts to compensate for their offenses. When they could not pay their debts, they would become psychologically unhealthy individuals. The result would be unsatisfying by leading communities to protest and blame the government for strict laws, which would increase the radius of crime scenes. In conclusion, the traffic rules should encourage people to obey the authorities to ensure their safety. People are our families, as we choose neither punishing them unnecessarily nor forcing them to follow the rules.