story summary about Home by William Somerset Maugham

The short story tells you about members of Meadows’s Family. They lived and were happy in an antique stone house that was built in 1673. This special thing is all members of the family who had been born and breathed ones’ last. The master of the house was Mrs. Meadows, She was a woman of seventy, upstanding, aristocratic but she had humor. One day, Mr. George Meadows - the older brother of husband’s Meadows came back home from China after 50 years left. More years ago, Uncle George Meadows and his younger brother, Tom, had both courted Mrs. Meadows, and when she got married Tom, George had gone away. He moved to a lot of places in China and knew something like the back of his hand. It appeared that for the last ten years, George Meadows crippled with rheumatism, feeling that he had not much longer to live, wanted to see once more the house in which he was born. He walked by himself to the house. He talked with members of the family and he was really satisfied with his life and his choices. He passed away in this old house with all love from his family. Mrs. Meadows also was happy when George came back home, and she was not sure about her choice. Mr. George still kept in mind his promise that he’d never married anyone but Emily.