Sports stars often earn a lot more money than people in other professions. This is unfair, because nurses and teachers, for example, are more useful to society, and work harder than famous sportsmen.

Nowadays, a professional footballer earns much more than a teacher or nurse. Many people don't think this is fair, because teachers and nurses do more useful work. However, I disagree that we should pay them more than sports stars, because top sports people can have a positive effect on young people and on society. They also have to work very hard. Firstly, sports celebrities can be a good example to young people. It is important for children and teenagers to take exercise to stay fit and healthy, and watching sports people makes them want to do this. Also, I disagree with people who say that sports stars do not work hard. Top athletes practise for hours every day trying to be the best. They often hurt themselves and have to rest because they use their bodies too much. So, in my opinion, they should make a lot of money. A final reason why sports stars should earn a lot is that they bring people together. Parents and children enjoy watching sport together, and the whole country can support their national sports team. This makes different types of people feel like they are part of the same society. To sum up, nurses and teachers do very important work and should get better pay. However, I don't believe that we should pay sports stars less. They are positive models for young people, and they have to work very hard. Therefore, I think that it is right for them to earn a lot of money.