Sports professionals should be paid higher. What other professionals should be paid higher.

Sports is a multibillion-dollar industry as a result athletes earn more than other professionals. Some individuals argue that sports athletes wages should be higher. I strongly agree, they should earn more than rest of the professionals. This essay will discuss reasons for my agreement, along with other experts that should earn more and conclusion at the end. There are numerous reasons for sport persons to earn higher wages. Firstly, majority of the athletes have a very limited work span, they cannot earn in later part of their lives. Most of the sports demand extreme fitness which is not possible after a certain age, as a result athletes retire early in their life when compared to other people. For Instance, according to FIFA, over 95 percent of footballers retire by the age of 35, because it becomes impossible to meet physical standards require to be a professional footballer. Secondly, sports persons have to deal with constant pressure of performing at highest level, since they are constantly judged by media and fans. This sort of pressure can lead to severe phycological ailments such as depression or anxiety, that can have serious impact on life of a person as well as family of the athlete. For Example, in 2019 International Sports Federation reveals, over 50 percent of athletes suffer from mental problems because of persistent performance pressure. Professionals such as soldiers and doctors should be earning higher wages as well. Every soldier has to goes through a rigorous training through out their career as well as put their life on the line in order to protect citizens of the country, however they are usually not compensated accordingly. For Instance, a study conducted by Hindustan Times in 2015 reveals that 67 percent of the soldiers earn below Rs. 50, 000 a month, which is less than a salary of a bank employee. Doctors are also one such professionals which are underpaid, if compared to the importance of the duties the perform on regular basis. During this Coronavirus pandemic doctors were working at the most dangerous working environment, as they have to treat the infected patient while putting their own life at risk as a result several doctors died after being infected by the coronavirus. For Instance, during the second wave of coronavirus pandemic over 7000 doctors lost their life after been infected, while treating patients. To conclude, sports industry is one the fastest growing industry worldwide also attracting highest television ratings, which put athletes under immense scrutiny for everything they do. Therefore, justifying their enormous salaries. However, other professionals such as doctors and soldiers should be paid accordingly, since they work in the most unsafe atmosphere in order to protect citizens of their country, while putting their own life at risk.