sporting events can be a good way to ease international tensions and release patriontism safely

As a fan of sports competitions, I agree with the idea that sporting events can be essential for international relations and national unity. In this article, I will talk about the influence of these sporting events. First of all, the World Cup, Olympics and other international games have the effect of easing tensions between different countries. In the mid-1990s, hundreds of North Korean supporters came to South Korea with soccer players, and they were very excited about sporting events. At that time, many North Koreans shouted and cried during the match, much to the surprise of South Koreans. On the other hand, some matches can worsen relations like the soccer match between Korea and Japan. In conclusion, I believe that international sporting events can be one of the good ways to defuse tension or safely release patriotism. But that cannot be the basis of patriotism or peaceful international relations.