Sport has undergone significant changes over the past decades. Yet under the circumstances of the present-day world, sport should not become commercialised, such as with advertisements and endorsements; to suggest the contrary can produce harmful effects. Discuss this statement and give your opinion

Sport has changed dramatically since its very first historical event—the ancient Olympic Games. In our present-day realities, sport seems to be revolving around money. Traditionalists often bemoan the over-commercialisation of sport. They tend to claim that sport has lost its true ‘colour’. Admittedly, sport is becoming a new type of business, or even an industry. What once made it special—the emotional connection between players and fans, the competitive spirit, and the simple joy of watching a game—seems to have faded. In a whole range of sports, including football and tennis, it is money that talks and leads the way. We can see advertisements all over stadiums, sponsors place their logos on every single free spot they can find, and television companies charge horrendous prices for watching top games. From TV rights to replica kits bought by fans, commercial considerations have been at the forefront of most developments in sport. In other words, sport has turned so commercialised that it is feared to have lost its ‘soul’. While it is true that commercialisation has such a negative impact on sport, we are certainly going too far in stating that sport has lost its ‘soul’. Such is a long-established activity, if not a tradition, that were it to lose its ‘soul’ so easily, did it even have a ‘soul’ to begin with, or even one that is worth saving? Were its ‘soul’ to be dying, why do millions of fans all over the world still watch matches in stadiums and at home and celebrate or suffer with their team? Try as it might, apparently, commercialisation has been unable to drive the ‘soul’ out of sport. In fact, sport is not separate from other aspects of life. It will inevitably be affected by progress, not frozen in time. We are living in a world of globalisation and technology, and these are bound to have an impact on the way sport is represented and delivered. Fans can watch live coverage of practically any game wherever they are in the world. Professional players are paid to maintain their status and performance on a national and international level. Sport today, especially e-sport, attracts a wider audience than it could ever have expected in the past. Clearly, commercialisation affects a certain kind of sports, often popular ones shown on television to maximise the effect of the publicity, while amateur sports still remain free of advertisements and endorsements. Such an introduction of publicity has not damaged sport but even brought about practical, legitimate benefits. Sport has been and will still be an important source of pleasure and pride. Much as commercialisation has infiltrated a part of the world of sport, I believe we will keep enjoying and appreciating that world. After all, it is the people who love watching and playing sport that have been keeping its spark alive, and this is what sport is all about.