Reasons why you choose CRPS

When I was a child, I frequently heard my parents’s discussion about the problems that I could not understand. Growing up a little more, I knew that they are public servants, so they often discuss with each other about work. Therefore, I often heard policy issues, but at that time, I still couldn’t understand all of it. In September 2018, my father had to go on a business in China, and I had a chance to come with him. Only be seen a part of China at that time, but I saw that it was much more developed than Vietnam. I thought why there was a difference like that, and asked my father for an answer; and he told me that “ There were various ways to make that difference, if you are curious about that, you have to find out yourself. I used to be like you when I was young, and I was found my passion in my current job. ” Those words of my father inspired my burning passion so much, and since then, I have hoped that I could do a job that is meaningful like my father. After that, when I’m a high school student, my teachers taught me lots of subjects, and I frequently have good marks in social subjects like geography, history. But I still could not be learned details about how Vietnam’s neighboring countries can develop quickly like what I want to know. However, I kept learning not only about ASEAN but also China, Japan, and some developed countries in Asia, from books, the internet, and from my father. I also attend most of online events about policies or information about countries if I can. I did all those kinds of things whenever I could until I was in grade 11 – the time that I have to decide my future job through a university. I have a respectable senior at my school, Huyen. And when I asked her how to find a major, she told me that the most important thing is choosing something I honestly like and am passionate about. Since Huyen is a first-year university student in Japan this year, she gave me some universities that she had applied. Among them, I finally could find CRPS in Ritsumeikan University – where I can learn about countries in regions, policies, and all things that make a country develop sustainably. I do know that there are a lot of persistent problems like improper housing planning even in the capital of Vietnam that can not be solved right now. And I truly willing to learn the way to solve the problems of not only regional countries in ASEAN, but also developed country like Japan. So by knowledge if I have a chance to study in CRPS, it will help to do my future job, is follow my father’s steps – being a public servant – and contribute even a little to the growth of Vietnam.