SPEAKING A FOREIGN LANGAUAGE HAS BEEN LINKED TO SOCIAL AND PRACTICAL PROBLEMS,

Having to speak a native language of a country where one is living has tendencies to cause serious social and practical problems. In my opinion, I completely agree that serious social and practical problems can arise from having to speak a foreign language of a country. To begin with, foreigners who live in a country where their languages peculiar to them find it difficult to adapt due to communication barrier. They cannot interact with their neighbours nor find suitable employments that would help them integrate more into the society. Also, when such a foreigner finds himself in the midst of people discussing, he might feel insecure thinking they are talking about him thereby causing him to stay away from people. Thus finding it difficult to socialize and at such may be depressed. Another point is that foreigners usually run into trouble when they cannot read nor understand the languages and having to continuously look for an interpreter which can be quite costly. For example, one might be driving and decide to park where it is illegal to park but because he could not read the street signs, he is therefore fined and charged even though it wasn’t his fault since he could not understand the signs. According to some group of sociologists in Oslo Norway who carried out a research in 2017 on foreigners living in a Norway, they found out that 90% of foreigners usually encountered a problem this sort in their first year of living in Norway. In conclusion, I believe that having to speak the language of where a foreigner is living can cause serious social and practical problems that cannot be ignored.