Spanking is not a effective discipline.

"Spanking to fix" is the phrase parents always use to defend when they spank their children. Parents who spank their children see it as a vital, effective, and beneficial method for teaching their children proper behavior. Some parents are convinced that children who are not spanked will become spoiled adults. However, millions of examples of well-behaved, nice, good, and well-mannered children have never been spanked, demonstrating that this is not the case. So I think spanking does not solve the problem, but it creates problems. First of all, spanking can create shame. Children may believe "I'm bad" and suffer from self-esteem, trust, and mental health concerns if a parent has struck them. Children who are ashamed are less motivated to change their conduct and grow up believing that they are powerless to do it. The study shows that children who are spanked are more likely than children who are not spanked to feel depressed, attempt suicide, have drinking problems, and use drugs as adults. Secondly, spanking children causes them to become aggressive later in life. When parents spank their children, they are modeling aggression, and children learn from their parents' actions. They learn that using force against someone is a legitimate means of resolving problems or expressing anger. This results in aggressive conduct against others during childhood as well as later in life. Children who are subjected to corporal punishment regularly develop more aggressive habits and are more aggressive at school. Lastly, spanking affects the parent-child relationship. It diminishes the child's and parent's trust in each other. When spanking is used frequently, children develop a self-protective shield to defend themselves in their relationships with their parents and in general. Building a self-protective shield makes children afraid to consult their parents when they have problems or difficulties. Because they may think that if they share the issues they face with their parents, their parents might get angry and spank them again. So they decide to solve the problem on their own or consult someone else instead. Overall, spanking is not an effective strategy to discipline a child as it can cause aggressive behavior later in life, create shame, and affect the relationship between parent and child. Children deserve to live in a world that is better and kinder. And it all starts at home, with every decision they make as parents in their quest to raise their children properly.