Our team focused on the study of the vowel sound systems of English and Vietnamese after establishing and arranging the group's essay.

Our team focused on the study of the vowel sound systems of English and Vietnamese after establishing and arranging the group's essay. Reading previous writers' dissertations on vowel sounds and identifying features in diphthongs, grouping towards theoretical systems and particular points in system vowels in two languages English and Vietnamese are the official languages of the country. According to Thompson (1978), he described the diphthong in Vietnamese as "two-element nuclei" which means a vowel followed by a glide. And he also pointed out some compound words ( /iu/, /ie/, /ɯɤ/ and /uo/) which are vowel clusters. There are a total of 25 diphthongs and they are divided into 3 groups as follows: falling diphthongs in Vj form, falling diphthongs in Vw form, and rising diphthongs in wV form On the other hand, the author Emerich, Giang Huong (2012) divided Vietnamese double vowels into 2 groups, the contour vowel group and the diphthong group. Diphthong is defined as a sequence in which a vowel is followed or preceded by a glide, while a contour vowel is defined as a sequence of two vowels. The contour vowel was divided into three-part and they are the upper vocalic group (Thompson, 1965). The first group is /ie/ and the Vietnamese spelling is iê, ia or y. The second group is /ɯɤ/, written as ươ and ưa. The last group is /uo/, written as uô and ua. In general, both Thompson (1978) and Giang Huong (2012) have succeeded in describing diphthongs in Vietnamese and giving a broader view of the theory and dividing them into different categories. separate group. After summarizing and referencing a number of research articles, and laying out some theoretical foundations that will aid the group's research paper and serve as a framework for the project's completion. In many ways, however, the study is not deemed to be totally absolute and just relative. Due to the Covid-19 outbreak, which has made it difficult for us to access the school library's book resources as well as interact and collaborate online, there are still numerous issues in communicating and expressing viewpoints. We are young people with limited experience, but we have dedicated all of our efforts to completing this research paper to the best of our abilities. Despite the fact that there are still many gaps that cannot be regarded flawless, our team has summarized and authored this study report based on this knowledge.