Space research plays a significant role in human development.

Space research plays a significant role in human development. However, some people think that space research is a waste of energy and money while the others disagree. This essay will provide some information regarding these two sources of opinion. To begin with, some people believe that all or most space research should be eliminated because of its incredible expense, not only in terms of money, but also in terms of scientific and human resources. For example, it cost billions of dollars to send astronauts to the moon, but all they brought back were some worthless rocks. These people say that the money and effort now being wasted in outer space could be spent for homeless people, improving the education system, saving the environment, and finding cures for diseases. On the other hand, some people believe that space research has provided many benefits to mankind. For instance, hundreds of useful products, from personal computers to heart pacemakers to freeze-dried foods, are the direct or indirect results of space research. In addition, the weather and communication satellites, which are also products of space programs, have benefited people all over the globe. Supporters of the space program point to the scientific knowledge that has been acquired about the sun, the moon, the planets and even our own earth as a result of space research. In conclusion, although space research is a waste of energy and money, it has already brought many benefits to humanity. Perhaps it will bring even more benefits in the future, ones that we cannot even imagine now.